WC vs SVMM (Sun Valley Mogul Method) vs PSIA

Share your mogul skiing technique and tips here, and ask your questions about mogul skiing here.

Moderators: SkiDork, bvibert

WC vs SVMM (Sun Valley Mogul Method) vs PSIA

Postby KevXR » Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:02 pm

So can someone give me a definition of these techniques?

Epic skiing is just a bunch of counter arguments on this topic. (Tastes great! Less filling!) :roll:
I caught WC is focused on skiing the zipper line course moguls. SVMM is more about rounding the turn.

My background is I am a former Head Mogul Skiing Coach of the Squaw Valley Freestyle team (1984). Also, a former ski school director at Slide Mountain (1983). Skied the National Championships (Moguls) in 1981 and 1982. I quit skiing in 2000 after several knee injuries and my doctor told me to quit skiing moguls. (What is the point of skiing?) A friend sent this link, so it made me curious.

I skied a few runs with Joey Cordeau back in the 80's. He was incredibly impressive in he just did turns everywhere. One up the face of the mogul, one down the backside. More over the mogul than down the rut line (WC).

Let's assume the run isn't a frozen zipper line, but a medium bump run with good snow.
How do you denote which style a skier is using?

WC -

SVMM -

PSIA -

Kevin
Kevin
"Old bumpers never die, their knees just fade away."
KevXR

Re: WC vs SVMM (Sun Valley Mogul Method) vs PSIA

Postby KevXR » Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:22 am

I went over to EpicSkiing and read a few of the threads.

"SVMM" is what we use to call skiing "Tops".

"WC" is what we use to call skiing "Troughs".

I'm curious as all heck to hear what PSIA technique might be.